Highs and Lows

High #1

I accomplished something I’ve been looking forward to doing for a long time today. Today, I made lasagna. This has been on my agenda for about two weeks now. Every time I went to make it, I would realize that I was missing an ingredient. Technically, I still didn’t have everything in the pantry, but I decided to just go for it. I’ve been living off peanut butter and jelly for a few days, so it was about time to make some real food.

Low#1

The road to food is always somewhat eventful. The pan was brimming with lasagna, and it boiled over a bit in the oven. One of my biggest fears in life is setting of the dorm smoke alarm and being the reason 300 girls have to file out and stand in the cold. I value my life too much to take a thing like that lightly. Thankfully, the fan above the stove kept the fumes to a minimum. The agony of fear was the true low, at this point. Oh, and I managed to cut my finger in the prep process.

High #2

Eating the lasagna made everything worthwhile. By the time I finish off the pan, I might not be quite so enthusiastic about the dish, but at the moment, life is good. There’s nothing better than packing as much cheese..and garlic…and carbs as possible into your diet.

Low #2

Being the talented individual that I am, I managed to get tomato sauce on one of my favorite shirts (it’s a sparkly cowl-neck that I got a thrift store for two-ish dollars). I realized my mistake after putting my laundry in the wash. I can only hope my stain stick will work its magic. Worst comes to worst, I can always just get a little…artistic with the arrangement of the cowl.

This has been an account of this day, as seen through the eyes of a hungry college student who hates doing dishes and laundry. Lasagna lover out.

Leave a comment